Club Spotlight – Grundy County

Grundy County High School

Grundy County (Tenn.) High School Bass Team

Date club founded:  2011.

Club founders: David Lowrie, Hank Lowrie.

Club affiliations:  The Bass Federation (TBF) until 2015 and B.A.S.S. from 2015 to present.

Club advisor and assistant coaches:  David Lowrie.

Frequent boat captains:  Creig Kimbro, Bruce Summers, Chad Dees, Bubba Ingleburger, Don Hall, Sam Morgan, Kevin Borne, Jeff Stevenson, Mark Hackworth, Casey Shrum, David Lowrie, Adam Ruehling, Rachelle Meeks, Kevin Nunley, Eric Weaver, Freddy Palmer.

Club accomplishments: 2015 Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation state champions; 2015 Bassmaster High School Southern Open champions;  2017 Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation state points champions;  Sixth place in  2018 Bassmaster High School National Championship;  Team members Kyle Palmer and Kyle Ingleburger named to 2017 Bassmaster High School All-State team; Kyle Palmer named  2017 Bassmaster All American;  Scholarships awarded to team members Dakota Cantrel to Campbellsville University, Kyle Ingleburger to Tennessee Tech and Kyle Palmer to Bethel University. Multiple tournament wins at the state level.

 Other annual activities: Team members participate in lake cleanups and habitat projects in their area of the state.  

Current club members:  Austin Birdwell, Marcus Borne, Grant Dees, Summer Dees, Ben Freeman, Jude Gilliam, Gavin Hackworth, Paul Allen Harvey, Clint Meeks, Luke Meeks, Peyton Nunley, Peyton Price, Seth Ruehling, Ian Shrum, Rachel Shrum, Eli Stevenson, Dakota Stiefel and Matthew Weaver.

Team Facebook page: