Club Spotlight – Warren County Pioneer Anglers

Warren County Pioneer Anglers

Club Spotlight brought to you by ELITEANGLR

Date club founded:  2014.

Club affiliations: Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation.

Club advisor and assistance coaches: SRO Officer Brad Myers is the field coach and the school sponsor is Jay Holt.

Frequent boat captains:  Brad Myers, Mark Browning, Travis George, Barry Vandagriff, Billy Campbell,   Chris Frizzell, Jeff Walls, Cody Mackie, Ricky Christopher and Jodie Lassiter.

Club accomplishments: Our most recent accomplishment is anglers Matthew Vandagriff and Asa Robertson winning the Bassmaster High School Classic March 7, 2020. Matthew and Asa are seniors and have had a very successful fishing career with our team.  The current 2019-2020 season we added our first junior team, Annie Lassiter and Hayden Jones. They are currently the second place junior team in the Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation out of about 600 junior anglers. Annie is a seventh grade student at Warren County Middle School and Hayden Jones is a student at Dibrell Elementary.

Our team has an awesome support group of parents and has had encouraging help from everyone from the Warren County Director of Schools Bobby Cox to local philanthropist Michelle Ayers Dodson who supports our team by putting on a memorial golf tournament in memory of her late father angler Glen Ayers raising funds every year to cover the costs of angler jerseys and even scholarships for anglers. We have so much community support and an awesome group of boat captains who are so devoted to the safety and well-being of our anglers. Our boat captains lead by their example of exceptional sportsmanship and safety, investing countless hours into our program.

Other club activities: Our Warren County Anglers are very active with Tennessee B.A.S.S. Nation Conservation Director Jake Davis working to replenish local fish populations by building habitats. We also participate in lake cleanup efforts with Mr. Davis. Recently we also took part in a project building a handicap ramp at Tim’s Ford Lake. These projects educate our anglers on conservation and help to grow our sport and love of the outdoors.  

Current club members:  Aiden Grissom, Will Prater, Matthew Vandagriff, Asa Robertson, Lane Lassiter, Braxton Campbell, Jacob Frizzell, Dakota Russell, J.T. Walls, Rhegan Woodlee, Ike Gillentine, Caleb Mackie, Casey Christopher, Alyx Smith, Annie Lassiter and Hayden Jones.