Club Spotlight – Wayne (W.V.) Pioneers Bass Fishing Team

Wayne (W.V.) Pioneers Bass Fishing Team
Wayne (W.V.) Pioneers Bass Fishing Team

Club Spotlight brought to you by EliteAnglr

Date club founded:  2015.

Club founder:  Cameron Tanner.

Club affiliations: B.A.S.S. Nation.

Club advisor and assistance coaches: The current club advisor is Melanie Maynard.  The assistant coach/advisor is Brent Maynard.

Frequent boat captains:  Chris Allen, Anthony Beckett, Jamie Booth, Caleb Dyer, Mike Jackson, Chris Kiley, Brent Maynard, Farren Perry, Rob Preston and Mark Walters.

Club accomplishments: In 2016, Kevin Sansom and Tucker Watts won the West Virginia B.A.S.S. Nation State Championship and advanced to the Bassmaster High School National Championship on Kentucky Lake.

Continuing since 2016, we’ve had teams annually advance to the West Virginia B.A.S.S. Nation State Tournament.

We had the following three teams rank within the top 15 places from the 2019 W.V. Bass Nation High School Trail series and will be advancing to the W.V. State Tournament:  Bailey McKinney/Avery Walters (seventh place), Eli Steele/Brayden Jackson (12th place) and Jamison Maynard/Tyler Maynard (15th place).

Other club activities: Participation in lake clean-up events organized by the U.S Army Corps of Engineers for East Lynn Lake and Beech Fork Lake.

Host the Nick Clatos Memorial Fishing Tournament.

Host the Fall Classic Tournament (formerly called the Halloween Classic).

Host a Swap Meet/ Fishing Expo (which takes place the first weekend of February.)

Began hosting open club tournaments weekly at East Lynn Lake this past summer and plan to continue annually.

Hosted a Gospel Sing Fundraising Event in October 2019 that we plan to continue annually.

Current club members:  Senior Jamison Maynard (club secretary); Juniors Chase Jackson (club vice-president), Cole Kiley (club treasurer), Tyler Maynard (club president) and Bailey McKinney; Sophomores, Mike Prario, Dylan Preston and Avery Walters; Freshmen Ethan Allen, Kaleb Beckett, Ryan Chaney, Brayden Jackson, Dillon May and Eli Steele.

Junior team: Eighth-graders Braylon Gilliam and Jarrod Perry; Seventh graders Brady Dyer and Ike Meddings.

Team Facebook page:  Wayne Pioneers Bass Fishing Team.