Cullman (Ala.) High School Bearcats Fishing Team

Cullman (Ala.) High School Bearcats Fishing Team

Club Spotlight bought to you by Elite Anglr

Club founders:  Lee Mattox, Mason Jones, Chayse Freeman, Wil Blaylock and Jake Smith were the first five anglers, and brought Kyle Morris in as the coach in 2013.

Date club founded:  The club’s first season as a school-affiliated club was the 2013-2014 team, although some students had participated in tournaments before then as an unaffiliated group.

Club affiliations:  The club is an affiliate of the B.A.S.S. Nation and fishes B.A.S.S. events exclusively.

Current club advisor: Head Coach Kyle Morris.

Frequent boat captains: Brian Graves, Phillip Kinney, Jeff Casey, Jamey Lambert, James Cobbs (former CHS Fishing Team member, currently fishing at Auburn University), Buddy Suggs, Chris DeFoe, Ricky Montgomery, Lou Ayers.

Club accomplishments: 2017 B.A.S.S. Nation Smith Lake Regional Champions; 2017 Alabama B.A.S.S. Nation State Champions; 2017 B.A.S.S .Nation Lake Guntersville Regional Champions;

Team members James Cobbs, Justin Lowery, Lawson Graves, Cameron Glasscock qualified for the 2017 B.A.S.S. National Championship; Lawson Graves, Cameron Glasscock qualified for the 2018 B.A.S.S. National Championship; Jake Smith received  Fishing Scholarship to Campbellsville University in 2015; Cameron Glasscock, David Dueland, Garrett Whitney received University of Montevallo Outdoors Scholars Scholarship in 2018; 2014 CHS Fishing Graduate Lee Mattox was a four-time  College BASS National Championship qualifier; 2018 CHS Fishing Graduates Cameron Glasscock and David Dueland qualified for 2019 College BASS National Championship.

Other annual activities:  The club assists the B.A.S.S. Nation with tournaments.

Club members:  Varsity–Seniors Lawson Graves, Keaton Kinney, Cameron Starnes and Will Barnett; Juniors Cy Lambert  and Houston Smith; Sophomores Jack West,   Laiklind Casey, Cole DeFoe, Henry Cook ,  Ethan Moore,   Caden Barnett, Drake Speakman and James Clark Parrish. Junior Varsity—Junior Will Lowery; Sophomores Jed Wilson, Brodie Taylor, Austin Russell and Cameron LeBron; Freshmen Lou Ayers, Zeb Lambert, Luke Troutman,    Jaxon Denny and Lane Parker.